Lahaul-Spiti History | Ancient | Medieval | Modern History

 Lahaul-Spiti History Lahaul-Spiti History | Ancient |Medieval | Modern History



(1)       Ancient History

 Manu has been described as the ancient ruler of this region.  People of this region also participated in the Mahabharata war.  This region was under his occupation at the time of Kanishka (Kushan Dynasty).  A stupa of Kanishka was found in the Zaskar region. After the Gupta period, during the time of Harshavardhana (606-664 AD), the connection of Lahaul rejoined the kingdom of Harsha.  Hieunsang in 635 ADS   had traveled to Kullu and Lahaul.  600 ADS Around Chamba conquered Lahaul.  Lahaul was occupied by Kullu and Chamba who were under Harsha at the time of Harsha.  Due to which Lahaul also came under Harsh.  According to Hieunsang, Spiti was ruled by Sen kings whose first king was Samudrasen.  Rajendra Sen, King of Spiti, made Kullu a taxpayer under him for some time.  At the time of Chhettsen (seventh river) Spiti came under Ladakh.  The rulers of Spiti were called ‘Nono’.

(2)       Medieval History –

 Lahaul became a part of Kashmir in the 8th century.  Specimens of Kashmir art have been found in Mrkula Devi and Trilokinath in Udaipur.  Kashmir art remained in Lahaul till the 11th century.

Lahaul was ruled by the King of Ladakh La-Chan-Utpal (1080-1110 AD) ever since he attacked Kullu and forced him to give ‘Jo’ a mixture of cow and yak. 

 Kullu and Lahaul were under Ladakh (Tibet) at the time of the Tibet invasion of Jain-ul-Baddin (1420–1470 AD), the king of Kashmir. 

 Lahaul became part of Kullu at the time of Bahadur Shah (1532–1559 AD) King of Kullu.  The year 1631 AD Lahoul was also part of Kullu. 

–  The kings of Chamba also occupied most of Lahaul.  Mukula Devi Temple of Udaipur was built by King Pratap Singh Varman of Chamba. 

Lahaul was part of Kullu at the time of Raja Jagat Singh of Kullu (1637–1672 AD).  The year 1681 AD the Mongols invaded Lahaul because the “lama” here believed to be of ‘dungpa Mat’. 

– With the help of the Mughals, King Vidhi Singh (1672–88 AD) of Kullu captured the upper regions of Lahaul.  From the time of Vidhi Singh, Thirot determined the boundary between Kullu and Chamba. 

– Spiti was largely independent of Kullu and Ladakh in the Tibet – Ladakhi Mughal War (1681–83). 

–  Gandala Fort was built by King Mansingh of Kullu (1690–1720 AD).

(3) Modern History

The name of Raja Vikram Singh (1806-1816 AD) of Kullu is found in an inscription at Gemur Gompa.  William Moorecraft’s 1820 AD Details of Lahaul Yatra are also recorded here.  According to William Moorcraft, Lahaul was then under Ladakh.  The capital of Lahaul was Tandi at that time. 


1840 AD In Lahaul came under the occupation of Sikhs.  Cunningham in 1839 AD traveled to Lahaul.  Sikh commander Zoravar Singh in 1834–35 AD.  Attacked Ladakh / Zaskar and Spiti. 

-1846 AD After the Treaty of Amritsar (British and Gulab Singh), Spiti came under the British. 

-The merger of Chamba Lahaul and British Lahaul Happened in 1975 AD. 

-The British made Baliram the first Negi of Lahaul. 

-1857 AD Spiti’s ‘Nono Wazir’ helped the British at the time of the rebellion.  During the First World War, the British conferred the title of ‘Raibahadur’ (1917 AD) to Wazir Amirchand of Lahaul. 

– 1941 AD Was made a Lahaul-Spiti sub-fort and its headquarters at Keylag.  The Punjab government made Lahaul Spiti a district in 1960.  The year 1966 AD   Lahaul Spiti merged with Himachal Pradesh. 
Thank You for reading our Article
Thank you  for Reading Our Article 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *